Typically Tanya by Taha Kehar

In Books, Hot off the Press by adminLeave a Comment

In the vein of Moni Mohsin and Saba Imtiaz, a story from modern-day Pakistan about a headstrong woman with equal parts sass and smarts. There’s a little bit of Tanya in all of us, and it’s mostly the part we suppress.

Meet Tanya Shaukat.

Tanya’s got a pretty good life, working for Karachi’s Daily Image newspaper and smoking-drinking-flirting her way through minor romantic escapades.

Sure, there are a few tiny problems. But, so far, she’s been handling them well enough—in fact, she’s even managed to neatly sidestep the rishtaas her mother’s match-making friends keep bringing in. Arranged marriage? No, thank you. She’d like some knee-shaking love instead.

But Tanya’s carefree life quickly gets complicated after her (erstwhile) best friend Sonia’s Shaadi is called off when the groom runs away with another woman—the same groom Tanya once got intimate with on a drunken night she would rather not remember. Now it’s up to Tanya to set things right.

 

Order your Copy NOW!

Will Tanya manage to save Sonia’s wedding? And will she finally find true love?

Typically Tanya fills a much-needed gap in terms of fiction emerging from contemporary Pakistan and brings to you a cast of politically opinionated, liberal, urban women that are both feisty and fearless.

AUTHOR BIO:

Taha Kehar is a Karachi-based journalist. He’s written for both Indian and Pakistani magazines, newspapers and publications. He’s the author of a collection of poems titled Writing Words With Fire. Typically Tanya is Taha’s debut fiction.

Read the Press Release in Storizen Magazine October 2018 Issue.

Leave a Reply