Book Review: ‘Fourth Wing’ by Rebecca Yarros

Join the Dragon-Riders: An Epic Fantasy Romance Adventure


Book Title: Fourth Wing
Author: Rebecca Yarros
Publisher: Piatkus
Number of Pages: 512
ISBN: 978-0349436999
Date Published: Jul. 25, 2023
Price: INR 1,080

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

Book Review

Fourth Wing” is the first book in the Empyrean series by Rebecca Yarros, a USA Today bestselling author of over twenty novels. It is a New Adult fantasy romance novel that follows the journey of Violet Sorrengail, a twenty-year-old girl forced to join the Rider Quadrant, a brutal and elite war college for dragon riders, in a kingdom facing an imminent threat from an ancient enemy. Violet must overcome her physical limitations, her mother’s expectations, and her enemies’ schemes to bond with a dragon and become a warrior. Along the way, she also finds love, friendship, and betrayal in a world where nothing is as it seems.

The book is set in Basgiath, a kingdom with four quadrants: Riders, Scribes, Healers, and Mages. Each quadrant has a war college, with Riders being the most powerful. They bond with dragons and fight on the front lines, but not everyone can. Dragons are scarce and reluctant to bond due to the kingdom’s wards.

Violet, the daughter of General Sorrengail, is sent to join the Rider Quadrant instead of the Scribe Quadrant. Her rare condition makes her bones brittle and her hair grey. She faces hostility and resentment from other candidates, especially Xaden Riorson, the powerful leader in the Rider Quadrant. Xaden, the son of Lord Riorson and heir of the Iron Flame lineage, sees Violet as weak and unworthy. He blames General Sorrengail for his father’s imprisonment and mother’s death and sees Violet as a weak candidate. As they interact, they discover more about each other and discover secrets and lies that could change everything. They must decide whether to trust each other as they face dangers and challenges that test their loyalty, courage, and love.

Fourth Wing” is a captivating novel that blends fantasy, romance, adventure, and mystery in an original world. The author creates a complex plot that explores themes like identity, family, duty, freedom, power, corruption, sacrifice, and destiny. The characters are well-developed, with Violet as a strong, smart heroine and Xaden as a brooding, arrogant hero. The intense chemistry between Violet and Xaden leads to a slow-burn romance that will make readers swoon.

The book also features a diverse cast of supporting characters who add depth and color to the story. Some of them are allies to Violet and Xaden, such as Lila (Violet’s best friend), Kieran (Xaden’s second-in-command), Remy (a charming rogue), Nia (a fierce healer), Asher (a mysterious mage), and Zephyr (Xaden’s dragon). Some of them are enemies or rivals to Violet and Xaden, such as General Sorrengail (Violet’s mother), Lord Riorson (Xaden’s father), Eris (a cunning scribe), Cade (a vicious rider), Talon (a rogue dragon), and Astra (the Empress’s dragon).

Check out our Latest Book Reviews

The novel explores Basgiath’s society, history, politics, religion, geography, and culture, focusing on the various types of dragons and their abilities. Written in a captivating style, it features a dual first-person point of view between Violet and Xaden and uses vivid language, humor, and sarcasm to lighten the mood. The fast-paced, action-packed novel adds tension and drama, while steamy romance adds heat. It is a must-read for fantasy, romance, dragons, and dark academia fans.

Apart from the narration and engaging story, the book’s aesthetics are worth mentioning. The sprayed edges of the book with dragons in black attract the readers initially. The art differs from the country and the version of the book. The comfortable font makes the reading enjoyable, though the book is long. The book ends with a cliffhanger, and the second book, Iron Flame, is set to be released in November 2023.

Order your copy now!